Australian Women's Register

An initiative of The National Foundation for Australian Women (NFAW) in conjunction with The University of Melbourne

Skip to content
  • Click to view details about this Image

    Members of the Adelaide Hockey Club


  • She's Game: Women Making Australian Sporting History

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Organisation

  • Trove

Adelaide Hockey Club (1981 - )

Sporting Organisation
Alternative Names
  • Aroha Hockey Club (previous name, 1904 - 1980)


Adelaide Hockey Club was formed in late 1981, after ten years of sharing of playing fields and change rooms became formalised by the amalgamation of the Sturt (men's) Aroha (women's) and Sturt (men's) clubs . It is one of the largest and most successful hockey Clubs in South Australia with over 300 members playing both the Junior and Senior competition.


Formed at a meeting on May 3rd 1906 , the Aroha Women's Hockey Club was created as an offshoot of the Goodwood Baptist Church young ladies bible class, open to young women in the church over 16 years of age. The name Aroha means love and friendship in Tahitian. Aroha had not at first intended to play any matches, but as the club mastered the rudiments of the game, it was felt that the level of interest would increase if matches were played. The opening match was played against the local Methodist Club, and the first annual report of 1907 records the pleasure team members felt in inflicting a defeat of 9 goals to nil.

The club joined the South Australian Women's Hockey Association in 1909. The club had an enviable record in its 74 seasons existance, playing in 51 A grade finals between 1909 and 1980, winning 26 of these.

Aroha set many precedents. It was the first club to throw away the old school tunic and play in a divided skirt. Aroha led the way in fielding junior teams. In its first season, the junior team won one game 20 goals to nil. Of the club's many State and Australian representatives, the most honoured was Evelyn ("Taz") Tazewell, who captained SA for 16 years from 1920 and was All-Australian 19 times.

Related entries

Related Concepts

Archival resources

State Library of South Australia

  • Adelaide Hockey Club : SUMMARY RECORD, 1906 - 1980, SRG 289; Adelaide Hockey Club (1981 - ); State Library of South Australia. Details
  • Aroha Hockey Club, 1923, B 61822; State Library of South Australia. Details

Digital resources

Members of the Adelaide Hockey Club


Nikki Henningham

Site-wide information and acknowledgements

National Foundation for Australian Women The University of Melbourne, eScholarship Research Centre

© Copyright in The Australian Women's Register is owned by the Australian Women's Archives Project
and vested in each of the authors in respect of their contributions from 2000

The Australian Women's Register is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License

The Australian Women's Register is published quarterly by the Australian Women's Archives Project
ISSN 2207-3124