Australian Women's Register

An initiative of The National Foundation for Australian Women (NFAW) in conjunction with The University of Melbourne

Skip to content

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Organisation

  • Trove

Ladies Literary Society (1911 - )

21 November 1911
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Writers Group
Alternative Names
  • Scribblers (also known as)


In 1911, 32 women came together to form a Literary Society. They were intelligent, creative and active women who contributed significantly to the social and cultural life of Brisbane at the time. These women were not only writers but worked in many charitable, feminist and cultural spheres. They were travellers and observers. They contributed to the Comforts Fund in World War I and were active in women's suffrage movements. Some held a prominent social status by virtue of their husbands' occupations in academia, medicine, law, civil service and the professions, but - until recently - little was known of the contribution of the women themselves. Jean Stewart's Scribblers: A Ladies Literary Society in Brisbane, 1911 was published in 2007 by Kingswood Press.


Members of Scribblers, 1911-1912

  • Mary Elkington
  • Christina Corrie/Thynne
  • Caroline, Lady Macartney
  • Hermiene Ulrich/Parnell
  • Mary Cullen
  • Evelyn Drury
  • Lucy Wilton Love
  • Christina Sandford Jackson
  • Mary Gibson
  • Trucaninni Corrie
  • Annie Turner
  • Zina Cumbrae-Stewart
  • Katherine Needham
  • Selina Rivers
  • Kate Lilley
  • Lilian Cholmeley
  • Jane Bourne
  • Dr Eleanor Bourne
  • Jessie Murphy
  • Naomi Waugh
  • Edith Dickson
  • Kate Gall
  • Getrude Pattinson
  • Amy Steele
  • Lillian Bernays
  • Elizabeth Baker
  • Grace Bond
  • Maria Lightoller
  • Amy Norton
  • Eva Hockings/McLay
  • Edith Wassell
  • Mary, Lady MacGregor

Sources used to compile this entry: Information for this entry was provided by Jean Stewart.

Barbara Lemon

Site-wide information and acknowledgements

National Foundation for Australian Women The University of Melbourne, eScholarship Research Centre

© Copyright in The Australian Women's Register is owned by the Australian Women's Archives Project
and vested in each of the authors in respect of their contributions from 2000

The Australian Women's Register is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License

The Australian Women's Register is published quarterly by the Australian Women's Archives Project
ISSN 2207-3124