Australian Women's Register

An initiative of The National Foundation for Australian Women (NFAW) in conjunction with The University of Melbourne

Skip to content


  • Unbroken Spirit: Women in Broken Hill

Use Trove to find more resources by/about this Woman

  • Trove

Morris, Margaret (Sister Mary Ita) (c. 1865 - 1954)

c. 1865
Callen, Ireland
Broken Hill, New South Wales, Australia
Religious Sister
Alternative Names
  • Morris, Margaret (birth name)
  • Sister Mary Ita (religious name)


Sister Mary Ita was one of the first six nuns to form the Sisters of Mercy at Broken Hill, New South Wales.


The first six nuns to arrive in Broken Hill came from Singleton in the Diocese of Maitland, and founded the St Joseph's Convent in February 1889. They were: Ann Agnes Callen (Sister Mary Josephine), Margaret Hennessy (Sister Mary Clement), Sarah Gallagher (Sister Mary Gertrude), Ellen Dwan (Sister Mary Patrick), Margaret Morris (Sister Mary Ita) and Mary Griffin (Sister Mary Evangelist). Sister Mary Josephine was appointed Reverend Mother of the Sisters of Mercy by Bishop Dunne. Under her leadership, they visited the sick and poor of Broken Hill, provided a home for orphans, and opened five schools in the town by 1896.

Margaret Morris was educated at St Brigid's Missionary School in Callen, Ireland, before making the journey to Australia to enter the Singleton Convent in November 1885. With Sister Mary Gertrude (Ellen Dwan) she volunteered to join the Broken Hill Community and went on to teach at the high school there for many years. She was Superior at Broken Hill from 1929 to 1941, Superior at Mt Barker in 1911, and Superior at Condobolin from 1942 to 1946.

Sources used to compile this entry: Camilleri, Jenny, Some Outstanding Women of Broken Hill and District, Jenny Camilleri (Broken Hill Historical Society/Broken Hill Council), Broken Hill, NSW, 2002.

Related entries

Digital resources

Margaret Morris
c. 1940


Barbara Lemon

Site-wide information and acknowledgements

National Foundation for Australian Women The University of Melbourne, eScholarship Research Centre

© Copyright in The Australian Women's Register is owned by the Australian Women's Archives Project
and vested in each of the authors in respect of their contributions from 2000

The Australian Women's Register is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License

The Australian Women's Register is published quarterly by the Australian Women's Archives Project
ISSN 2207-3124