Entry type: Organisation Entry ID: AWE0116

## League of Women Voters Victoria

(1945 - )

Born 1 August, 1945, Australia

Occupation Lobby group

## Summary

The League of Women Voters Victoria began in August 1945 when three women's organisations agreed to combine: the Victorian Women's Citizens Movement, the League of Women Voters, and Women for Canberra. The first President of the League was Mrs Julia Rapke JP OBE.

The League aims to encourage people, young and old, to regard their vote as a privilege and a right, to be exercised seriously.

Each year there are three events held, two marking important milestones for Victorian women voters and a seminar to encourage young women to get to know women politicians:

- March 31, 1909 when Victorian women first gained the right to vote in State elections, and

– May 12, 1924 when Victorian were first able to stand for the Victorian Parliament.

- Young Women's Leadership Seminar held at Parliament House, organised by the Parliament's Education Office.

The Bessie Mabel Rischbeith Memorial Trust is conducted under the auspices of the League as a tribute to a remarkable Australian woman.

Published resources

## Book

A Great Idea: Peace and Women Politicians in Victoria, Geddes, Margaret, 1987

Women's sphere : a summary of the movement for women's electoral reform and representation in Victoria, Mackay, Louise, 1904- [prepared by ], 1989

## Resource

Trove, National Library of Australia, 2009

Archival resources

State Library of Victoria Records, [manuscript].

Papers, 1948-1984 [manuscript].

National Library of Australia, Manuscript Collection Reports 1978-1979 [manuscript]

The University of Melbourne Archives Pethybridge, Eva

Moore, Edith Eliza Harrison

Author Details Clare Land and Anne Heywood

Created13 September 2001Last modified22 May 2018